A: The department will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days or inform you that you did not meet the eligibility criteria. Once your application is complete, processing may take up to 180 days if your background check reveals potentially disqualifying events or information.
A: An initial LTC expires on the license holder’s first birthday following the four-year anniversary of the issuance of the license. In other words, an initial license is valid for four (4) years, and in many cases, for some additional months. All renewed licenses are valid for five (5) years.
A: It depends. A resident alien who has been admitted to the U.S. under an immigrant visa category will generally be eligible for the License to Carry a Handgun. However, under federal law, an alien who has been admitted to the U.S. under a non-immigrant visa usually is not qualified to purchase a handgun and thus is not eligible for a license. If you legally reside in Texas and were not admitted to the U.S. under a non-immigrant visa, you may be eligible.
A: Information about persons who are licensed to carry a handgun is confidential and may not be disclosed to an individual. However, upon proper request by a criminal justice agency, DPS must disclose to the agency whether or not a named individual is licensed to carry a handgun. Disclosed information includes the license holder’s name, date of birth, gender, and zip code. DPS must notify the license holder about the request and provide him/her the name of the agency making the request.
A: You must contact the DPS Concealed Handgun Section to receive a change of address form, or you may send a letter including your full name, LTC number, old address and new address (or status) and a cashier’s check or money order for $25. You may call 1-800-224-5744, write Texas Dept. of Public Safety Concealed Handgun Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas, 78773 or online at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/chlsindex.htm.
A: The license to carry handgun law sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Your application packet will list them in detail. For example, you must be qualified to purchase a handgun under the state and federal laws. A number of factors may make you ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions and most misdemeanor convictions that are less than five years old, (including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication), pending criminal charges, chemical or alcohol dependency, certain psychiatric diagnoses, protective or restraining orders, or defaults on taxes, governmental fees, student loans or child support. See Texas Gov’t. Code § 411.172. The application packet also will include information about materials you need to return with your application packet. These include two recent color passport photos, two sets of fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency employee or a private entity designated by a law enforcement agency as an entity qualified to take fingerprints of an applicant for a license, a copy of your Texas driver license or identification card, and a notification of completion form (TR 100) from a DPS- authorized training course. After receiving completed application packets, DPS will conduct background checks of juvenile records for the previous 10 years, and of all adult records.
A: No. Let’s take DWI as an example. DWI (first offense) is a Class B misdemeanor, and a person is not eligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or for the offense of disorderly conduct. A “conviction” includes cases that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication. If you have been convicted of two or more alcohol or drug- related offenses within the last 10 years, you may not be eligible.
A: Yes. If you have a payment plan with a government agency for back taxes or child support and the agency sends DPS a clearance letter, you may apply. Include a copy of the agreement and letter with your application materials. The License to Carry handgun law was designed to encourage those who made no effort whatsoever to pay what they owe.
A: Click the link to view the Texas License to Carry A Handgun Laws
*Information taken from Texas Department of Public Safety Website
1. (A) Must be a legal resident in the state of Texas for the preceding six months prior to submitting LTC application or
(b) May be eligible for a license as a non-resident under Section 411.173(a);
2. Must be at least 21 years of age or meet military exemption qualifications.
3. Has not been convicted of a felony (as ‘convicted’ is defined in Section 411.171(4);
4. Is not currently charged in any jurisdiction with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 (Disorderly Conduct), Texas Penal Code, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
5. Is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense in any jurisdiction;
6. Is not a chemically dependent (as defined in Section 411.171(2);
7. Is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
8. Has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 (Disorderly Conduct), Texas Penal Code in the past five years;
9. Is fully qualified under applicable federal and state laws to purchase a handgun.
10. Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support payments administered or collected by the attorney general;
11. Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of taxes or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, or tax collector of any agency or political subdivision of this state (or state of residence for non-resident applicants);
12. Is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, not including a restraining order affecting property;
13. Has not in the 10 years preceding the date of application been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony.
14. (a) Has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 (chl application) (b) An person who has been convicted two times within a 10 year period preceding the date of application of a offense of the grade of Class B misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or a controlled substance as a statutory element of the offense is a chemically dependent person for the purpose of this section and is not qualified to receive a license under this sub chapter.
Specific question regarding eligibility visit The Texas Department of Public Safety CHL site or feel free to contact TPS Shooting 832.567.3142
License to Carry a Handgun reciprocity agreement means the State of Texas and other state recognizes each other’s LTC/CCW permits. A unilateral agreement means Texas honors that states LTC/CCW but that state does not recognize Texas LTCs. Not all states that a Texas LTC is allowed has a reciprocity agreement with Texas. Click on the following link to get the most up to date list of states that honor Texas LTC: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CHL/legal/reciprocity/